Present and Accounted For

Instead of New Year’s Resolutions, I made some rough draft New You Solutions. I thought that if I reframed the way that I thought and lived, that I would see a positive change. Unfortunately, life got in the way, as usual. I wanted to make a whole list of things I wanted to accomplish, but to be honest, I’m not in the right mindset yet. It’s a struggle for me to find an hour or two to frequent the gym a few times a week, let alone try to go rock climbing or make tiramisu from scratch (two things I’d eventually like to do).  I have been actively trying to stay on top of my exercise routine and eat what makes me feel good, but something still felt a little off. Enter: the moleskine wellness journal.

photo cred: mojolondon.co.uk

My birthday was last week, and this was one of the fantastic gifts that Marissa gave me. I can’t tell you how excited I am about this. The journal is divided into sections: Personal Goals, Execise Log, Diet, General Health, Games/Sports, and Inspirations. There are another 6 sections with blank labels, so that you can create your own! I know the importance of writing things down so that they’re concrete, but now that I have something a little more “professional,” I find that keeping track of what I do is much easier. Another important aspect of writing down your goals/activities/diet etc is that it makes you accountable. For example, I got home from my internship on Monday night and began snacking away on some dark chocolate. I wrote it down in my journal and saw that I had quite a bit of sweets that day. The next day, I labeled my diet “Low Sugar Day” in an attempt to cut back on the refined sugars. Did I feel guilty that I ate sugar and chocolate the day before? Not really- it was delicious. Did I learn from my journaling and make changes accordingly? Absolutely. So expect some weekly updates about the goals that I’ve set for the week, and how I’m progressing!

What are some ways that you stay on track?

–Ariel

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. steff (steffsays)
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 22:49:06

    wow! i LOVE that notebook. i’m seriously considering ordering one immediately. i gave up food journaling when i gave up calorie counting because the 2 were fused in my mind, but i think it is possible to journal without judgment and i think it’s time to give it a try. 🙂

    Reply

    • positiveregard
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 18:18:30

      You absolutely should get one! I was afraid that writing down what I ate would lead to the dreaded calorie counting, but instead I think of it as taking inventory on my diet. Now I’m actually excited to write down my goals, inspirations, and food intake as silly as it sounds. If you get one, I’d love to hear your take on it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

