Midweek Ramblings

Pro and con time:

PRO: I finally get to write up everything that I’ve been wanting to over the past few days!

CON: I had to take a half day from work because I’m a coughing sneezing mucus-y mess. Did I mention that my voice is so nasal I sound like The Nanny?

Onto the ramblings! Marissa came to visit me this weekend and there was much galavanting around! We had every intention of going thrifting on Saturday, but the majority of the reviews we read online said that the stores smelled like mildew and cats. Since mildew and cats aren’t some of our favorite scents, we opted to go to the outlets instead.

After walking around the outlets for hoouuursss, Marissa suggested that we travel along in search of good farm stands. It was a beautiful day so it was fitting to find some delicious fresh produce.

I believe we stopped at 3 farm stands, and all of them were great. Just check out the butternut squash Marissa is holding! There was a plethora of squash and zucchini of all varieties, enormous heads of cauliflower and broccoli, and apples for miles. I ended up bringing home a few of my favorite apples, winesapps, and they were a pound each!

And check out those turnips! I kind of wanted to get some but I’ve never cooked turnips before. I don’t think I can even remember the last time I ate one. I think some recipe research is necessary before I splurge.

One of the farm stands also had peacocks. I don’t think I’ve written about my immense love for peacocks, but believe me when I say that I LOVE them.

Lots of walking and not a lot of eating left us famished. We made a quick stop at Whole Foods to pick up a schmorgasboard of food and to look for ingredients to make dessert. You see, when Marissa first got to my apartment on Friday night, she put the bowl to her ice cream maker in the freezer.

I found a recipe for chocolate sorbet here, but we of course made it our own. We used 3.5 ounces of dark chocolate with chili, omitted the vanilla extract, and added about 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon.

The process of chocolate sorbet isn’t wildly photogenic. Oh, and we’re easily amused

Oh, you want to see the sorbet anyway? Well okay, if you insist.

Photogenic? No. Delicious? You better believe it. Words cannot describe how good the sorbet turned out. It tasted like a dark, rich brownie batter. The spice from the cinnamon and chili wasn’t apparent at first, but after you let the sorbet melt on your tongue, you were left with a tingling of heat. We didn’t eat the sorbet by itself either.

We paired it with my newest obsession. The people at Edy’s are bringing their A game with this flavor. Not only does it have fewer calories and fat than regular ice cream, the flavor is beyond good (I know I sound like a spokesperson, but I am in no way affiliated with Edy’s- I just eat copious amounts of their ice cream).

The dense chocolate and the mellow pumpkin paired perfectly together. I imagine that any variety of infused chocolate would work well in the sorbet recipe, or you could substitute in any flavor extract that tickles your fancy. If you wanted to make it completely fat free, you could also experiment with just using cocoa powder, although I would recommend a high quality powder.

Ok lovelies, I am off to use the best invention ever, the neti pot. As always, we would love to hear your imput and feedback!

apositiveregard (at) gmail (dot) com

–Ariel

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Field Trip! | Positive Regard

Leave a Reply

