Want to vs. Have to

Every weekend is a slight battle of the want to versus have to. I WANT to go for a run and spend all my time outside soaking in the beautiful autumn weather. I HAVE to write a paper that is extremely time consuming and requires way too much research. I WANT to buy new shoes for fall. Like these. And these. Oh, and these. I HAVE to conserve my funds so that when I’m living in a cardboard box after graduation, I can at least buy some food. And maybe some fro yo. You know, the essentials.

I WANT to have something tasty and filling for breakfast. I HAVE to eat something good for me so that I can function for the rest of the day. Luckily, the oatmeal bowl I’ve been making as of late combines the want to and the have to. I don’t know about you guys, but I’ve made the switch to having oatmeal in the morning. During the spring and summer, I usually have yogurt with protein powder mixed in and some fresh berries, but dropping temperatures and increased winds means something warming.

I kind of made this up the other day when I wanted to incorporate fresh apples into the oatmeal. First take your favorite kind of apple. Mine is braeburn or gala, but this is a red delicious. Chop it into medium sized pieces, then throw it in a microwave safe bowl.

Sprinkle quick oats and cinnamon (optional, but recommended) on top. I believe I used 5 tablespoons of oatmeal and a few shakes of cinnamon. Pour 2/3 of a cup of water over the whole thing and pop in the microwave for 3 minutes.

Take it out, stir, and put back in for 2 minutes. Once done, I like to sprinkle more cinnamon on top and drizzle some pure maple syrup over the top. Yeah, the pure stuff. None of that imitation, sugar-free stuff. Go for the pure thing, you’ll thank me. Like most of my recipes, this is adaptable! I imagine this is great with slivered almonds or some sort of nut butter mixed in. Pumpkin butter and dried cranberries?! The possibilities are endless. Just like my damn research paper.

What are your favorite autumnal comfort foods? Do you have a daunting research paper to do?

E-mail us at apositiveregard (at) gmail (dot) com!

–Ariel

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. toughcookienyc
    Oct 19, 2010 @ 02:29:08

    What a delicious dish!

    Reply

Leave a comment